'The Canadian'

Tennessee Walking Horse Futurity

The inaugural Tennessee Walking Horse Futurity was held in Calgary in 1983. In preparation for the first Futurity, the Alberta Walking Horse Association invited breeders and owners of TWH to nominate Stallions and Mares. The resulting offspring would be eligible to compete in September 1983.

The 1983 respondents and participants represent the early history of the TWH in Western Canada:

- Breton Lesley
- Shirley and Don Campbell
- Keith Doll
- Marjory and Don Fabro
- Claudia and Hilton Hack
- Marlin and Henry Matechuk
- Betty Motherwell
- Joey Romain
- Diane Sept
- Beverly and Len Skowronski
- Jack Strachan
- Helen Williamson

The nominated Stallions were:

- Black Beautry's Beau Dee
- Calta Midnite Victry
- Go Shadow Go
- Heza Walker
- Midnite Jester E
- Randy's Mr. Barker
- Sky's Sunni
- Sound of Invasion

The nominated Mares were:

- Bell's Little Beauty
- Betty's Early Dawn
- Canadian Firefly
- Cinnamon Sunday
- Flash's Easy Aces
- Glory's Gold Chiffon
- Kings Dallas Queen
- Mac's Sunday Teardrop
- Metz Golden Queen
- Midnight Star
- Miss Boots a Walking
- Miss Stroll-O-Way
- Pleasure's Spirit
- Shadow's Happy Miss
- Sizzling 66
- Sun's Chipper
- Sunday Breeze

'The Canadian' Tennessee Walking Horse Futurity was held annually for 22 years. From a humble beginning of 18 entries, 'The Canadian' Futurity grew to 181 entries in 1998. Futurity entries between 1983 and 2004 were 2039. At a minimum, these 2039 entries represented a minimum of 193 breeders or owners.

Over a period of 22 years 'The Canadian' has undergone many changes:

- In 1993, the Alberta Walking Horse Association handed the sponsorship of 'The Canadian" to the Canadian Registry of the Tennessee Walking Horse.
- In 1994 the format was changed from a comparative system to an evaluative one. 'The Canadian' was the only evaluative program for Tennessee Walking Horses in the world.
- In 2004, the Virtual Division of the Futurity was added to make the program more inclusive.
- In the summer of 2005, recognizing fundamental changes in the TWH industry combined with major economic factors, 'The Canadian' was postponed.
 - o Entry fees were returned.
 - O Participants were invited to a gathering.
 - o A professional videographer was hired.
 - o All entries were videoed.
 - O Videos were submitted to a judge for evaluation.
- At the 2006 Annual General meeting, CRTWH introduced a replacement to 'The Canadian' the Program For Excellence.

Three elements contributed to the success of 'The Canadian' – owners and breeds, sponsors and volunteers.

Thanks to Committed Owners and Breeders.

Adams, Lorraine Cherkas, Andrea Frei. Carole Chivers, Elizabeth Friesen, Kelly Adrienne Innocent Arden, Jim Christenson, Hanna Gavigan Arden, Randv Churchill, Judith Germscheid, Maureen and Greg Arvchuk, Joan Clarkson, Shilrevanne Gialet, Rob Astill, Donna & Wayne & Amber Cole, Lexie Glover, Walt Austin, Cynthia Connolly Goin, Lyla and Gary Baker, Arianne Cooper, Charis Goodsman, Rhonda & Bonnet, Jim Baker, Brenda L. Coppock, Lori Gordon, Martin Baker, Dave Coppock, Roger Gowda, B.

Baker, Dave Coppock, Roger Gowda, B.
Ball, Dixie and Rod Corbett, Donna Grayson, Kim
Banks, Susan Crawford, Darci Green, Mrs. Alice
Bannister, Ron Curtis, Darrell Gullage, Anita and Dave
Bensmiller, Bernie Czech, Terry and Greg Gurnett, Margaret and Jack
Biever, Bernie DeTro, Penny Gwynne, Monty

Black, Lori and Robert Drynen, Karen Hack, Hilton and Claudia

Boeyenga, Delores Duncan, Anita and Lake Haines, Sheila Boyer, Len Eadie, Eldon Hall, Caroll Brills, Loo

Brilz, Leo Eadie, Rolanda and Donald Hallett, Harry
Burbank, Wayne Edwards, Donna and Frank Hamel, Ed
Burch, Sally Edwards, Betsy Hancock, Greg
Burke, Bruce Ennis, Carla Hancock, Shirley and Ed

Burton, Allan Fabro, Marjorie and Don Hand, Lynda

Burton, Victor Flipping, Judith Hansen, Crystal and Charles

Butle, Myrt and Ted Fox, Ron Hardy, Todd

Campbell-Brown, Elizabeth France/Crumley, Lillian Harlick, Elise Cannon, John Freeman, Karla Harman, Rose

Haugrud, Les Healy, Allison

Heinzig, Mabel and Albert

Hemmett, Rick

Hildebrandt, Wendy and David

Hoffman, Dr. Vern Holloway, Madeline Holtz, Sheila and Len

Holyoak, Cindy and Richard

Howes, Bill Hunchuk, Leslie

Hutchinson, Tina and Tim

Innocent, Adrienne Innocent, Erin

Innocent, Laurie and Dale

Innocent, Ryan Irerson, Kathy

Janni

Johnson, Melanie Johnson, Melanie Johnson, Randy

Jordan, Rosemary and Clem Kay, Mike and Machkowski, Eva

Kennedy, Jessie and Tim

Kerik, Frances Kerrigan, Lori

Kessler, Marlise and Alf

Kingsland, J.M. Knight, Alberta

Kobza, Christine and John

Lachance, Mel

Lacy, Marjorie and Charles

Laing,

Lambert, Lisa and Noble, Tom

Lambert, Montana Lambert, Tiffani Layden, Crystal

Lemmon, Rhonda and Dave

Lempke, Hugo

Levangie, Liz and Norm

Livingston, Darci Loewen, Pat Lohner, Glenda Lorinczy, Val and Bud

Lougheed, Cameron & Mazur,

Nicole

MacKay, Linda and Tom

Martin, Shirley Martinoff, Cathy

Matechuk, Marlin and Henry

McCannell, Diane

McDonald, Jo-Anne and Don McFadden, Sharon and Klassen,

Bill

McGregor, Pauline
McKenzie, Allan
McKinnon, Christine
McLaren, Louise
McMillan, Mona
Meyer, Linda and Bill
Neilson, Dr. Darren
Newton, Martha and Brian

Nike, Clare Nipshank, Carole Nolan, Cathryn O'Neill, Albert

Oberle, Kathy and Keith Pagenkopf and Sprague

Paholkin
Pogue, Deana
Pollock, Odetta
Porret, Lisa
Pringle, Kim
Rempel, Diane
Rempel, Jean
Rempel, Mary
Renault, Steve

Reum, Sheial

Rinas, Michelle and Ross

Rivard, Caritha Robinson, J. Glenn Rodney, Kim Rodney, Sheila

Rogers, Joyce and Edward

Russell, Robert
Rutledge, Shelly
Ruttan, Charlene
Salt, Deloris and Bill
Schlaut, Bobbi-Jo
Schlaut, Maryann
Scott, Windi
Sept, Diane
Sereda, Susan

Sharpe, Heather and George

Sigurdson, Dawn Skowronski, Bev Smith, Sharon and Ted

Smylie, Jack

Sorensen, Grethe and Viggo

Sprague, Verna Stoyberg, Brian Strachen, Jack Strand, Chad Sweetnam, Gary Swiney, Elaine Szott, Lyden Temesvary, Zoltan Thachuk, Norman M.

Tracy Young and Dane DiPasquale

Urfer, Diane

Varjas, Charlene and Andrew

Verstraete, Dixie

Von Lippa, Sandra and Hasso

Von Loo, Karen Walker, Jayne Warhaft, David

Warner, Connie and Ken

Wesslen, Shirley Wiart, Richard

Widmer, Rosina and Randy

Wikeruk, Laura Williamson, Helen Wilson, Elaine Wray, Mary Ann

Zimmerman, Blayne and Donna

Thanks to Committed Volunteers

Adams, Lorraine Little, Cicily Bagby, Mike Little, Dennis Ball, Brian Little, Dianne Loewen, Paula Beacom, Gar Bettles, Brenda Marda Wright Bill Roy Margaret Gosling Block, Linda Martinoff, Cathy Butler, Ted McCargar, Murray Congren, Andrea McLaren, Louise Moen, Joyce Cooper, Charis Edwards, Frank Mueller, Jane Fisher, Petra Mueller, Mike Nike, Claire Fraess, Bill Frei, Carole Pat Pritchard Frei, Roger Pritchard, Candace Gravson Kim Pritchard, Kelly Gurnett, Jack Rempel, Mary Gurnett, Margaret Robinson, Glenn Hack, Kristen Rogers, Joyce Hack, Lara Russell, Boyd Hergott, Beryl Russell, Leah Hummel, Maureen Sawatsky, Kevin Hunchuk, Leslie Stu Pritchard] Jen Rempel Thachuk, Norman Kingsland, J.M. Turner, Lois Lacy, Marjorie Verbisky, Irene Levangie, Norm Van Loo, Karen Little, Amy Walker, Don

Thanks to Committed SPONSORS

AWHA 1983 - 1992 CRTWH 1993 - 2004 Fraess Hoof Grease GW Cycle World Horse Industry Branch, Alberta Government Jus' Fine Northern Metallic Sales Olds Agricultural Society Satellite Printing Walking Horse News